Survivor 32 Episode 4 “Signed, Sealed, and Delivered”

caleb-reynolds-survivor-kaoh-rong-cbs_kbomqf

I have watched 32 seasons of Survivor.  I have laughed.  I have cheered.  I have gotten mad and I’ve thrown things at the television.  However, I think that tonight’s episode may have been the first time that I’ve ever found myself in tears while watching Survivor.

Have you seen the latest episode yet?  If you haven’t watched it yet, stop right now,  Stop reading this post and go watch it.  Because, unless you’ve seen this episode and experienced it firsthand, you cannot understand the emotions that I and thousands of others are feeling right now.

I mean, we all knew that someone was going to be medically evacuated during tonight’s episode.  They told us that much in last week’s preview.  As I waited for tonight’s episode to start, I tried to guess who it would be.

I was certain it would be a member of the Brains Tribe because, physically, they are the weakest tribe.  I thought maybe it would be Joe because he’s older than the other castaways or maybe Aubry since she already seems to be way too fragile for this game.  A part of me really hoped that it would be someone from the Brawn Tribe, hopefully either Jason or Scot.  Wouldn’t that have been wonderful, to see one of the two self-styled alpha males collapse under the demands of competition?

Tonight’s episode started with a reward challenge.  It was a grueling competition.  In fact, I would argue that the reward — coffee and cups — wasn’t really worth the effort.  Along with running an obstacle course, the teams had to dig in a huge sand pit until they found three bags of balls.  It was a hot morning and, within a few moments of the competition, it was obvious that everyone was suffering.

The Brain Tribe found their bags first and, after throwing each of the 9 balls into a hole, they easily won the challenge.  While the other two tribes were still searching for their bags, the Brain Tribe was celebrating their victory.  That’s when Debbie collapsed and I thought, “Oh my God, Debbie’s going to be evacuated!”  Debbie leaving the game would have definitely been a huge development (for one thing, Joe would have no idea who to take his orders from) but, after the medical team checked her out, Debbie managed to recover.

(As I’ve made clear in the past, I’m not a fan of Debbie’s but I wouldn’t wish any harm on her.  Heat stroke is no joke.)

Meanwhile, the Beauty Tribe found their bags and Caleb started tossing the balls.  When he was finally down to having only one ball left, the Brawn Tribe finally found their bags and started tossing.  And the Brawn Tribe made up a lot of lost ground but finally, Caleb won the competition for the Beauty Tribe…

And then he collapsed.

And, seriously, it was one of the scariest moments that I’ve ever seen on Survivor.  The medical team ran over to Caleb and tried to get him to respond.  Tai started to cry and Caleb — big, strong Caleb — looked so helpless down on the ground.

And then Cydney collapsed.  The medical team checked on Cydney and it quickly became obvious that she would be okay,  Caleb, on the other hand, had to be medically evacuated.  When Jeff told him he was leaving the game, Caleb shook his head.  Caleb wanted to stay.  He wanted to play.  But for his safety, he was removed from the game.

On twitter, I said this:

As of right now, that tweet has gotten 166 likes and 23 retweets.  Obviously, I was not alone in being sad to see Caleb go.

And really, who would have ever expected this?  I couldn’t stand Caleb when he was on Big Brother but I loved him on Survivor.  He was truly in his element and, I would even say, that it appears he grew up a bit in between doing Big Brother and Survivor.  Gone was the stalkerish Caleb from Big Brother and instead, we had the Caleb who became best friends with Tai.  I’m not sure if Caleb would have won this season if he hadn’t been medically evacuated.  He was obviously such a big threat that he would have become everyone’s target after the merge.  But I think he had everything that he needed to succeed in this game.  If he had managed to make a few good strong alliances and win a few immunity challenges, I think he could have gone pretty far.

But you know what?  As much as it broke my heart to see Caleb go, it also reminded me of why I love Survivor.  You can never know for sure what’s going to happen.

After Caleb was evacuated, I was expecting that they would cancel the next Tribal Council (as they’ve done in the past when a survivor has been taken out of the game for medical reasons) and that they would just go ahead and reshuffle the tribes.  However, they didn’t.  The Brawn Tribe lost immunity (and, if we’re going to be absolutely honest, it didn’t look like Jason, Scot, and Cydney were making too much of an effort to win it).  At Tribal, Alecia was voted out.

And as I watched Jason, Scot, and Cydney spend all of their time bullying Alecia and talking about how she wasn’t up to their standards, I was reminded of why I cannot stand the Brawn Tribe.  Seriously, what a bunch of bullies.  Jason said he would not want his daughters to grow up to be like Alecia.  Hey, Jason — Alecia stood up for herself and refused to take your crap so you would be lucky if your daughters were half as independent as she is!

Jason insisted on calling Alecia “Blondie,” as if that was an insult.  Was he aware that Blondie was one of the greatest musical groups of all time?  In honor of Alecia, here’s Blondie performing Atomic:

Tonight’s episode ended with the suggestion that Caleb may return in a future season of Survivor.  Here’s hoping that both he and Alecia get a second chance at this game!

20 thoughts on “Survivor 32 Episode 4 “Signed, Sealed, and Delivered”

  1. franniep2

    Great write up as usual, Lisa. I was also sad that Caleb had to leave. Man, that was some drama last night. You know the heat was unbearable when even Medic was dripping wet with sweat. They are all lucky, because it could have been a lot worse. I am going to miss Caleb, and I hope he does get the chance to be on another season.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. deb

    Great write-up as usual LM. I was so upset to see it was Caleb that was down. It’s funny how most people didn’t like him on Big Brother and loved him on Survivor. It was like two different people. I can’t believe they didn’t stop for water, rest and dip in the water at some point during the challenge after seeing how everyone was suffering. Glad to hear that Caleb is 100% again and may be back. I didn’t care of Alecia but I felt bad for her when Scot and Jason were ready to vote her out right there on the beach.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. williamswarriorkb

    I also would’ve liked to see how Caleb handled the game when the merge hit and it became an individual contest. He’ll be back for another round I’m sure. Alicia got screwed by being on the Neanderthal tribe and Scott and Jason rank right up there with the Troll King Russell Hantz in the unlikable category. I’m hoping that they go soon since there will be a mix up next week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Lisa Marie Bowman Post author

      Alecia should have been put on the Beauty Tribe. They pretty much screwed her over from the start by putting her on Brawn. (I would have had Nick and Alecia switch places as far as tribes are concerned.)

      Like

      Reply
      1. bobovnvet

        Who knows! I hope so! I did like him so much better here on Survivor then on BB! Still getting all comments 😦 Have a good Saturday Lisa …………. :mrgreen:

        Like

  4. Housecracka

    Hate to brake it to everyone but all these shows are fixed and all you are falling for it hook lin and singer before they even started the challenge they know caelb was going to pretend to be passed out because its good for the drama and make peopel wach.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. star227

    Hey Lisa!! Late again and as usual we are of like minds and your write ups cover everything so thoroughly that there isn;t much more to add. Except that I also cried…wept really….when Caleb went down. I think it was a culmination of all 3 players being in danger, but also because I too had come to absolutely love Caleb in this show!!! He was in his element. He was like a caged animal in the BB house. And as you said, it looked like he matured AND he has a fiance’ now and I think he is happy with her and grounded.

    But I think Survivor needs to look at itself and maybe make a few changes. For one. NEVER do that challenge again!! They could have killed 3 people!(Not to mention law suits their families would have levied against them if anything were to happen to their loved ones!) Or only do it at night or in a much cooler location.

    Also, I think that if a person still has a desire to play, even if they have to be evacuated, if they get a perfect bill of health from the medics, they should be allowed back in, within a 24 hr period. Most other players have not wanted to finish or were actually hurt so badly they needed further medical help. I think it just SUCKS they didn’t have enough staff or equipment there to treat Caleb on location. It seems to me that medical should actually have a hospital tent set up in the background, not just a medic, an oxygen mask and some cold water! They really don’t even have that much medical staff as Jeff had to yell at all his staff people to come running in to help too!!!! Not only was I upset about Caleb, I was angry at the whole way that Survivor treated this situation..for all 3 people. I don;t remember Jeff looking guilty or apologizing for making them burrow thru desert hot sand in stifling conditions. And the worst part is, Caleb was who I was rooting for and I don;t really see anyone else in that motley crew that I give a rat’s ass about now. He could have gone all the way, I am sure!!! Maybe I will root for Tai now as he and Caleb were so close. As a tribute. Otherwise, I will be watching the rest of the season without much enthusiasm.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

